|Date:||Saturday, 23 February 2019, 10:39 AM|
Table of contents
This book explains what the Moodle dashboard is, how it works and how teachers and students can benefit from it.
Course overview of the dashboard with navigation block to the left. The dashboard is a convenient jumping- off point to your courses. In this view, students and teachers can see the courses they are presently enrolled in. When course completion tracking is enabled and pictures are added to the course description area, the dashboard comes alive.
Timeline overview showing various activities students need to work on. This view is handy in that students and teachers can 'jump' into activities directly from the dashboard, without the need of going into a course and looking for them there. In addition, teachers will see a notification of submitted work that needs to be graded.
Everyone who accesses Moodle has their own dashboard There are several features that are available which you can choose to modify should you want to.
Depending on your Moodle site set up, the dashboard might be the default view which means you will be directed to it right away on your login – other sites might require you to access your dashboard by selecting ‘Dashboard’ located at the top left corner of the page.
How do I know that I am in the Dashboard view/page?
Check the top right corner – if you see “ Customise this page” you know that you are on your dashboard.
Once you are on your dashboard, you should see the following:Any activities that require your attention – this is located under the ‘Timeline’ tab. Note that you can quickly get to the activity by clicking 'Add submission'
Note here that you can choose to see your Timeline by ‘ Sort by dates ’ or by ‘ Sort by courses ’.
If you select ‘ Sort by dates ’ you will see the activities that require your attention by dates as the tab suggests.
If you select ‘ Sort by courses ’ you will see your courses listed on the left and the activities that require your attention listed to the right of the course.
Here we see the courses that you are enrolled in – this is located under the ‘Courses’ tab. Teachers may see hidden courses also but not students. Students can be enrolled in a hidden course but they wont see it because its hidden.
Good to know!Notice that you can see new submissions there are to mark (indicated within the grey box).
By selecting the courses tab, you will see all of the courses you are enrolled in. Please note that there are three tabs from which your courses will be listed:
All the courses that you see listed here are those which are ‘active.’ These would be courses that you are working on for the current term or semester. You will be working extensively if not solely from this area!
These are courses that are upcoming. Depending on how the activities and enrollments are setup in future courses you may not be able to pursue any work within them until the start date of the course.
These are your previous courses that you would have been enrolled in. If you are still enrolled in past courses and the course is open, you can still get to it. This could be useful for review purposes for example. If a teacher is hiding a past course, students wont see them at all. Of course, sometimes all students are removed from past course in which case they wont even show up under the 'Past' tab.
Good to know!How schools manage enrollments is different. It is a good idea to explain to students if they still have access to past courses or not.
To control this view, one must do the following within the course:
Find and open the course in question. From the user menu, select ‘ Edit settings ’ Within the ‘ General ’ settings for the course/class, locate the following:
Course start date and Course end date . The 'Course start date' should already have a date applied. However, if this course is meant to be taught later ( Future ) or has already been taught and you want it to organize it as a past course, this is where you make the adjustment. Simply alter the date to reflect how you want it to appear and once you click ‘ save ’ (scroll to the bottom and select save), the effect will take place immediately. For the current ( In progress ) course, be sure to apply an ‘end date’ For the Future courses – once again, be sure to apply both the start and end dates for past courses, apply an end date that would occur before the current term.
Good to know!With setting course start dates and course end dates, we control how courses are organized on the dashboard. With course visibility, we control if courses are visible (available) to students. A student can not access a hidden course but he/she can access a course with an end date in the past!
In order to provide the list of activities that require your attention, the teacher must apply a date in the ‘Remind me to grade by’ setting. To do this: Go into your course. Turn on editing for a particular activity, select ‘ Edit ’ and then ‘ Edit settings ’
Within the ‘ Availability ’ section, you will need to apply the following in order for the teacher to get their reminders.
The ‘ Allow submission from ’ date and the ‘ Due date ’ must be ‘ Enabled ’ and the dates set. The ‘ Cut-off date ’ can be applied – for this purpose it is not needed.
To generate the teacher reminder , you must enable the ‘ Remind me to grade by ’ setting and apply a date.
Good to know!Courses with continuous enrollment might need to handled using a different approach. It is good idea to get a feel for how this works first before trying to accomodate continuous enrollment scenarios.
In Moodle, everyone can do some customising of their dashboard. To do that, look for the ‘ Customise your dashboard ’ button, often found in the top right corner of the dashboard.
Customizing your dashboard will allow you to add or delete ‘blocks’ to your dashboard. What blocks you have access to will vary depending on how your particular Moodle site has been set up. Some possible blocks include Calendar, Comments, HTML, Latest badges, Private files, Tags just to name a few.
To customise your dashboard: Select the button ‘ Customise this page .’ At this point you will find a ‘block’ which says ‘ Add a block ’
Click/select this and a drop down menu will appear with the blocks that have been made available to you
When you are done customising your dashboard, be sure to select the button ‘ Stop customising this page .’